The Journey Begins

Posted: August 27, 2013 in Uncategorized

This is a blog about one women’s powerlifting journey and her complete physical, emotional, and mental transformation. Thanks for joining me.

Let’s begin by talking about the picture below. That’s me with my husband, step-son and daughter on August 17, 2013.

The Journey Begins Pic

My natural instict is to ignore this photo, delete it from every social media outlet, and pretend it never existed. Why? Because I can’t help but think I look horrible in this picture (which sucks because it is a wonderful picture of my family).

The truth is that this photo serves as an external reminder of signifcant internal anguish. I know how I feel when I look at this photo and I am not happy with my body or how I feel. Yes- I have a cold in this picture. Yes – I am still breastfeeding. Yes – I am back to my pre-baby weight. But these “truths” have become excuses for remaining stagnant.

I’m done with excuses…I’m ready for a change and for a challenge!

 

Leave a Reply

